Friday, December 2, 2022

Review: AUTONOMOUS by Richard Beauchamp

Science Fiction and Horror have been my two favorite genres over a long lifetime. At first glance they seem to have nothing in common; but look again. What is NOT TERRIFYING about Space? From the very factual Challenger, Columbia, and Apollo 1 multi-tragedies (all Horrifying and unforgettable) and Dr. Who floating gently toward the Sun, to the possibilities in Space: the Void, the Cold, Systems Failures, Meteorites, Asteroids, Comets, Solar Eruptions, Terrific Planet-spanning storms; psychotic break in a crew member; sociopathic artificial intelligence; unsuspected aliens! What in Space is NOT MIND-BOGGLINGLY TERRIFYING??? WHY ARE WE EVEN IN SPACE????

If I haven't already proffered sufficient food for thought (and premises for Nightmares), I now offer you Richard Beauchamp's brand new "REASON TO AVOID SPACE EXPLORATION," titled intriguingly AUTONOMOUS. Oh my: a story does not have to exceed Proustian length to blow readers out of the water and onto an unscheduled EVA tour without a tether [yet another potential Space Terror!] I don't suppose Mr. Beauchamp has ever traveled on a Space Exploration mission, but reading AUTONOMOUS, you would never know: I swear he's traveled to Space and brought back the tale.

Do not overlook AUTONOMOUS! [And do remember: In Space, no one can hear you scream!]

Tuesday, November 22, 2022

TBRYear10


TBR Pile Challenge Turns 10! I signed up for this a few years ago; unfortunately, I chose randomly, and at the end of the year, all 12 + 2 were still unread!

Alternates (2):
Alternate #1 AEGYPT 2018/CHILDREN OF TIME/CHILDREN OF RUIN
Alternate #2 THE LABYRINTH OF THE SPIRITS 2019/DREAMS FROM THE WITCH HOUSE 2018

1. JOURNAL OF THE PLAGUE YEAR (A. TCHAIKOVSKY, et. al.) 2014
2. REDEMPTION'S BLADE 2019
3. BLOOD OF THE MANTIS 2021
4. SURVIVOR'S SONG 2020
5. GROWING THINGS 2019
6. EVOLUTION 2014
7. SUNSTORM 2014
8. RED MOON RISING 2017
9. HIDDEN BODIES 2015
10. URANUS 2020
11. GOLDEN SON 2014
12. RED RISING 2014

Tuesday, November 1, 2022

YULETIDE SPIRIT READATHON

Goal: 1. Read 6+ Christmas/Christmastide/Christmas settings

Christmas Films:#

Children's Christmas: #1

TITLES READ:

1. ALL THE BLOOD WE SHARE by Camilla Bruce 5* Historical Fiction/Alternative


2. THE HIDDEN SPACE Author ARC
3. A QUIET RETREAT KU VIRTUAL
4. BLACKWATER FALLS LIBBY VIRTUAL
5. HOW TO SELL A HAUNTED HOUSE NG ARC
6. A SNAKE FALLS TO EARTH Libby
7. I CHOOSE DARKNESS KU
8. THE UNSOLVED CASE OF THE CHRISTMAS BABY NG ARC Christmas #1
9. CHRISTMAS LAND CHRISTMAS #2 CHILDREN'S #1
10. CHALICE OF DARKNESS
11. YULETIDE INVASION CHRISTMAS #3
12. SACCULINA
13. EPISODE THIRTEEN NG ARC
14. MONICA ADAMS SKIPS CHRISTMAS CHRISTMAS #4
15. DANGEROUS DEEDS (Cozy)
16. SECRET SANTA FOR GRUMPY ELVES CHRISTMAS #5 LGBT Christmas Romance
17. BRIARCLIFF PREP
18. SECRET SANTA MURDER Christmas #6
19. AUTONOMOUS SF Horror
20. NO GODS TO DROWN SF/FANTASY/HORROR/COSMIC
THE CAT IN THE CHRISTMAS TREE Christmas
THE CHRISTMAS DEAL (FESTIVE FAKES Series)

CHRISTMAS FILMS 🎥:

CHRISTMAS 🎄 CHILDREN'S BOOKS: 1. CHRISTMAS LAND

Sunday, October 23, 2022

NOVEMBER SCIFI MONTH!!

Scifi Month

All of November's Reads:

1. SUGAR SKULL by Manuel Ruiz. Horror, Paranormal, Dio de Muertos
2. IT LIVES IN THE WOODS Horror
3. **THE PILLARS OF IDRAPHA SF, Space Opera
4. A HEART FULL OF HEADSTONES Police Procedural, Scotland, Crime
5. LAKER'S WORLD Children, Bigfoot
6. THE DOLLHOUSE: A HALLOWEEN HAUNTING Horror, Halloween

Tuesday, October 4, 2022

Review: GRIMOIRE

A fascinating compendium to delight aficionados of Horror and Dark Fantasy, GRIMOIRE ranges from subtle to outright frightening , investing readers in the lives of the (often feckless) characters . Delve in, but keep all the lights shining brightly!

Wednesday, September 28, 2022

FRIGHTFALL 2022

ALL OCTOBER LONG!!!

My reading choices will be:

Horror
SF Horror
Alternative History & Fantasy

FRIGHTFALL:

1.EVIL TRUST
2.THE SCARECROW SNUFF OUT [COZY]
3.BLAME IT ON THE PUMPKIN [Anthology]
4. HALLOWEEN PARTY IDEAS Non-fiction
5. THE GHOSTLY GROUNDS: MURDER AND BREAKFAST
6.THEIR GHOULISH REPUTATION [Anthology]
7. GRIMOIRE
8. OBSERVER
9. TAVERN OF TERROR VOL 2
10. THE FURIES
11. OCTOBER'S END (DARK TIDE VOL 3)
12. THE MISSING
13. BABEL: OR THE NECESSITY OF VIOLENCE, AN ARCANE HISTORY OF THE OXFORD TRANSLATORS REVOLUTION
14. THE HOUSE AT PHANTOM PARK
15. HALLOWEEN BEYOND (DARK TIDE 4)
16. NIGHT TERRORS VOL. 22 (SCARE STREET)
17. HIDDEN PICTURES
18.SECLUDED CABIN SLEEPS SIX
19.Christmas in The Forgotten Jungle
20.The Roll-Away Pumpkin
21.Jane Bakes a Pumpkin Pie: Pumpkin Pie Recipe Rhyming Book
22.You Are My Pumpkin
23.Pumpkin Smile Hard
24.The Realms
25. The Haunting of Abney Heights
26. The Sequel
27.THE MOTHER NEXT DOOR
28.GOOSEBUMPS MOST WANTED THE HAUNTER
29. BURN THE NEGATIVE
30. DUEL OF THE DAMNED
31. THE DARK ROOM
32. BISHOP
33. THE NIGHTMARE HOUR TV TIE-IN EDITION
34. LITERALLY DEAD: TALES OF HALLOWEEN HAUNTINGS
35. THE VESSEL

Saturday, September 3, 2022

Review: ALIEN GENESIS

ALIEN GENESIS is a creatively imagined and wide-ranging Science Fiction tale with an unforgettable, engrossing, reader's hook. In addition to its far-ranging Science Fiction explorations, ALIEN GENESIS has appeal to those interested in Metaphysics, the evolution of Civilization, and similar phenomena.