Tuesday, April 25, 2017

THE WEIRD COMPANY by Pete Rawlik_Review

The Weird Company: The Secret History of H.P. Lovecraft's Twentieth CenturyThe Weird Company: The Secret History of H.P. Lovecraft's Twentieth Century by Pete Rawlik
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Review of THE WEIRD COMPANY
by Pete Rawlik

THE WEIRD COMPANY (title becomes apparent during the story) is a very literate, well-crafted homage to H. P. Lovecraft and an excellent addition to the ever-expanding Lovecraft Mythos. HPL's aficionados will well recognize references as events throughout the story play both on the reader's mental stage and on the cosmic backdrop itself. Commencing with a 1931 Miskatonic University expedition to the vast frozen reaches of the Antarctic, continuing with the Federal Occupation of Innsmouth, Massachusetts, and on again to Antarctica, this horror/mystery/supernatural thriller weaves in many events, participants, and places from Lovecraft's own seminal work. Author Pete Rawlik seamless interweaves these multiple anecdotes and keeps readers' attention throughout, leaving us with the impetus to reread again the master himself: H. P. Lovecraft.

View all my reviews

Friday, April 14, 2017

SPIRE by Fiona Snyckers_Review

SpireSpire by Fiona Snyckers
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Review of THE SPIRE by Fiona Snyckers

THE SPIRE is a fascinating novel about one of my favourite topics, Antarctica, and about terrifying eco-terrorism. Terrifying from the point of view of the human race, this extremist form targets the human species in toto. Dr. Caroline Burchell is a surgeon and virologist accepted for winterover in Antarctica at the South Pole Research Station. She intends to study certain dangerous viruses in extreme cold. What she couldn't expect is an outbreak, not involving the viruses she brought in, that wipes out the personnel of SPIRE. She also couldn't plan on being adjudged a mass murderer. What follows is immediately and continuously riveting. Caroline is an immensely strong female protagonist and eliciting readers' empathy (if not that of the eco-terrorist!)

View all my reviews

Wednesday, April 12, 2017

DEVIL'S NIGHT DAWNING by Damien Black_Review

Devil's Night DawningDevil's Night Dawning by Damien Black
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Review of DEVIL'S NIGHT DAWNING
by Damien Black

DEVIL'S NIGHT DAWNING is an excellent fantasy adventure, which immediately captures attention with its reader's hook and talented writing. Somewhat reflecting Judeo-Christian cosmology, nonetheless the superb world-building stands on its own merits, appealing to readers who love fantasy and even to readers like myself, for whom fantasy is not usually the first choice of genre. In fact, it is reading exceptional fantasy like DEVIL'S NIGHT DAWNING which convinces me to take up the genre!

This is a lengthy dark epic fantasy (650 pages) and is the First in the Broken Stone Series. More excellence to anticipate!

The author generously provided a review digital copy, at no remuneration. This is the fair and impartial view of this reviewer.

View all my reviews

Sunday, April 9, 2017

GENESIS INVASION TRILOGY by Kristoff Chimes_Review

Genesis Invasion Trilogy: The Complete SeriesGenesis Invasion Trilogy: The Complete Series by Kristoff Chimes
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Review of THE GENESIS INVASION TRILOGY by Kristoff Chimes

THE GENESIS INVASION TRILOGY (release date April 10, 2017) collects GENESIS GENE, GENESIS CHILD, GENESIS REVELATIONS. Describing a thriller as "heart in mouth" is cliched, but even cliches can contain truth. THE GENESIS INVASION TRILOGY, spanning the genres of contemporary espionage thriller, science fiction, and metaphysical fantasy, with a huge helping of near-futuristic politics, science, and war, is literally nonstop, a fictional bullet train. No time to breathe, for protagonist or reader. I usually have no problem with suspension of disbelief, but this trilogy really stretched my imagination and creative appreciation.

View all my reviews

BLACK PANTHEONS by Curtis M. Lawson_Review

Black Pantheons: Collected Tales of Gnostic DreadBlack Pantheons: Collected Tales of Gnostic Dread by Curtis M. Lawson
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Review of BLACK PANTHEONS by Curtis M. Lawson

Present in this collection is a veritable feast for the discerning aficionado of dark fiction. Sometimes Lovecraftian, other times Qabalistic, yet at other turns relying on myth, legend, and Hebrew dark magic, BLACK PANTHEONS is literate and intellectual horror as it really ought to be written. I so appreciated how each entry tugged at my soul and stretched the bounds of my imagination. These are not stories you sit down to flip through during commercials; these are tales meant to be savoured, pondered, thoroughly and creatively considered. I'm inspired to look up more from this very gifted author, whose creativity finds its playground in the spaces between the stars.

View all my reviews

Sunday, April 2, 2017

THE DENALI DECEPTION by Ernest Dempsey_Review

The Denali DeceptionThe Denali Deception by Ernest Dempsey
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Review of THE DENALI DECEPTION
by Ernest Lindsey

The newest in a great series of thrillers is, to my mind, quite possibly the best. Yes, maybe I loved it extra because of the subject theme, but I still think it's the best. {smile}


Sean Wyatt takes on what seems like a routine mission for President Dawkins, investigating The Seward House in Auburn, New York, residence of William Seward, Secretary of State in Abraham Lincoln's administration. Wyatt doesn't know exactly what he's seeking, only that POTUS found something in the Presidential Archives that awakened his intense interest. Turns out, not only President Dawkins want the missing items located; so does a covert American cabal, and agents of a foreign power.

I really appreciate how author Ernest Dempsey's love of history and his grasp of historical research shine through the novel. As a lifelong lover of history, this makes the story extra special to me and extra fascinating. As always with a Sean Wyatt thriller, there's tons of action and adventure, heart-in-mouth suspense, and lots and lots of danger, for Sean and his friends and cohorts, even up to the highest echelons.


View all my reviews

Friday, March 31, 2017

EMBERS by Kenneth W. Cain_Review

Embers: A Collection of Dark FictionEmbers: A Collection of Dark Fiction by Kenneth W. Cain
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Review of EMBERS by Kenneth W. Cain

A sterling single-author collection, EMBERS is the third short story collection by prolific author Kenneth W. Cain. For readers who haven't encountered Mr. Cain, here is a wonderful introduction. Prepare for the stretching of your mind and the expansion of your imagination as Kenneth W. Cain boldly goes into unexplored territory, sometimes speculative, other times horrific, but always enlightening. My recommendation is sample one story at a time, taking time to savor the enjoyment or to reel from the horror; then let the story sink in.

View all my reviews

DARK DESIGNS_Review

Dark Designs: Tales of Mad ScienceDark Designs: Tales of Mad Science by Thomas S. Flowers
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Review of DARK DESIGNS

I cannot highly enough rave about the DARK DESIGNS Anthology, edited by Thomas S. Flowers and Duncan Ralston (both of whom also contributed stories), and comprising 15 exceptional stories. I have my personal specific favorites, of course, based on my own preferred horror flavours, but each entry is exciting, intriguing, and yes, horrifying. I love science, and off-the-track science as presented here is, well, mind-boggling. (smile)

All proceeds from this outstanding anthology go to “Medicin San Frontiers” (Doctors Without Borders).

View all my reviews

Friday, March 24, 2017

Review_MJ-12: INCEPTION by Michael Martinez

Mj-12: Inception: A Majestic-12 ThrillerMj-12: Inception: A Majestic-12 Thriller by Michael J. Martinez
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Review: MJ-12: INCEPTION
by Michael Martinez

I am so excited that MJ-12: INCEPTION is the first in a new series by author Michael Martinez. This novel is totally engrossing, and will appeal to any readers who love science fiction, history, conspiracy theories, espionage thrillers, and riveting writing with well-delineated characters and heart-in-mouth suspense. Back in 1945, at the U.S. Atomic bombing of Hiroshima, Japan, an anomaly was “created,” directly below the atmosphere point at which the bomb exploded. Meanwhile, Nazi scientists predicted such, and secured subterranean chambers under the former Reich Chancellery in Berlin (even though that portion of Berlin was by then under Soviet control). They also managed to create conditions to which a similar anomaly appeared. As the years roll forward, the U.S. “captures” the Hiroshima anomaly and installs it at Groom Lake in Nevada: Area 51. The Soviets transfer theirs to a neuropsychological institute in Leningrad. Both sides battle for supremacy in understanding and utilitizing individuals who have been tracked, targeted, and changed by the anomalies: “Variants.” Many in both governments fear the Variants' divergent superpowers, and many others see them as future superweapons. Very few except Lieutenant Commander Daniel Wallace any longer recognise them as humans.

View all my reviews

Wednesday, March 22, 2017

BACKLASH by S. A. Hoag_Review

Backlash (Wildblood #0.5)Backlash by S.A. Hoag
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Review of BACKLASH by S. A. Hoag
(WILDBLOOD 0.5)

BACKLASH is an exciting non-stop YA thriller, post-apocalyptic, with elements of Dystopia and science fiction, as well as a flavour of romance and young love. Sixteen years after World War Last, life is difficult, often made more so by Nomads and Scavengers. Protection and defense are lessons learned early. Young people, including adolescents, are trained as Scouts and Guardians. A minority are genetically engineered and have developed psychic capacities. If you love apocalyptic and post-apocalyptic, if you love a fast-paced character driven YA with an easy suspension of disbelief (it could happen, after all!) and characters you can love to relate to, BACKLASH is a super choice.

View all my reviews

Monday, March 20, 2017

BOOK OF ELEMENTS_Review

Book of Elements (The Everlasting Throne, #0)Book of Elements by Samuel E. Green
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Review of BOOK OF ELEMENTS
by

Samuel E. Green and Dylan D. Oscar

(The Everlasting Throne Book 0, Prequel)

This delightful fantasy novella introduces the series “THE EVERLASTING THRONE.” Our feckless hero Deobard is seventeen years old, living with his mother since his father “disappeared” when he was very young. He studies with the Archivists in the city, and during summers at the isolated castle, he is under the tutelage of the caretaker, whom he considers a fanciful and out-of-touch old man. For several years he has tried every summer to enter “the forbidden tower,” unsuccessfully until now. Suddenly, after the caretaker allows two men and a young girl to enter the Tower, Deobard can sneak in. Eventually he finds a small library and a single book set out, as if purposely. Stealing the book, he returns to his room, only to discover that not only can he read the text, when he returns to the tower he can incant spells. Major change for a young man who thinks history is bunk, dead languages are useless, and magic doesn't exist. The authors suffuse this story with an unending vein of subtle humour, enabling the reader to both acknowledge the characters as fallible, and simultaneously to empathise with their quests.

View all my reviews

Tuesday, March 14, 2017

THE GENESIS CONSPIRACY by James D. Prescott_Review

The Genesis ConspiracyThe Genesis Conspiracy by James D. Prescott
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Review: THE GENESIS CONSPIRACY by James D. Prescott


A fast-paced, imaginatively-premised, near-futuristic thriller with elements of science fiction, THE GENESIS CONSPIRACY rockets from contemporary maritime archaeology back to prehistory. Solidly grounded in both academia and corporate megalomania, the novel focuses on Dr. Martin Anders, an archaeologist, whose need for continuing research funding leads him into strange and dangerous venues. In the race to eradicate a fatal pathogen unearthed from a glacial, Anders and other scientists must open their minds to completely impossible viewpoints, or risk the extinction of the human species.


View all my reviews

Wednesday, March 8, 2017

EVIL SPEAKS by S. Woffington_Review

Evil SpeaksEvil Speaks by S. Woffington
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Review of EVIL SPEAKS by S. Woffington
{Warriors and Watchers Saga Volume 1}

What a delightful and absorbing book! I was captured from the first page, eager to jump into the lives of these wonderful characters, who exist within contemporary American society, yet also reside in a kind of otherworldly “dimension,” where Fate (in the classical sense) makes the rules and we must follow its directives. Fifteen-year-old Benny has been “on the run” with his mother Neeve since he was three. He believes his father to be dead. His grandfather is a kingpin in a sort of organized crime syndicate. But there is so much more to this than meets the eye, including shapeshifting monsters, gods of the classic world (Greek, Egyptian, Indian subcontinent, Babylonian, Hopi, and more), and seven “orphaned” adolescents (including Benny) who were “found” and who are harbored at the OneWorldAcademy in upstate New York. Benny's arrival there proves the catalyst for the six to desire to discover their own “truths,” and eventually to battle untold evil. I'm so glad this is the first of a series. It's well-written, encouraging, and compelling. EVIL SPEAKS exemplifies all the reasons I first began to read YA fiction, and inspires me to continue to seek out this genre.

View all my reviews

CAMP SO-AND-SO by Mary McCoy_Review

Camp So-and-SoCamp So-and-So by Mary McCoy
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

CAMP SO-AND-SO by Mary McCoy

I am ecstatic that I bought this book, because I found it totally enrapturing. It's sort of Appalachian rural fantasy plus Fae plus twists and turns that try the most intellectuallt brilliant reader, scares and dangers that awaken even the most jaded reader, and the coming-of-age of a sizable number of characters. There is brainwashing and personality separation, warmth and affection (possibly even love), friendship and tension and fear. In short, the novel has about everything, including a setting, a premise, and a plot line that is so outre, yet so engrossing. I don't want to give anything away, so I'll just say: if you love “urban fantasy” played out in a scenic mountainous setting; if you love fairy tales or the classic Greek gods and their ilk; if you cheer for strong female characters (both “good” and villainous are included); if you sympathize with weakness and empathize with characters who have failings, read CAMP SO-AND-SO.

View all my reviews

Sunday, March 5, 2017

BROKEN RIVER by J. Robert Lennon_Review

Broken RiverBroken River by J. Robert Lennon
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Review: BROKEN RIVER by

BROKEN RIVER is a deeply complex, multi-layered novel of literate noir: a novel encompassing mental disorder, crime, marital collapse, crime, coming-of-age, illusion and delusion (other-directed and self-indicted), psychopathy, narcissism, cancer, drug use, creativity, an isolated unappealing house that is at the center of all these variegated threads. There is also an entity, the Observer, which inexplicably comes into being the night of the "first" crime, and which finally a dozen years later, comes into FULK realization of itself and its nature as a witness of humanity.



View all my reviews

Wednesday, March 1, 2017

THE DRAGON ORB by Mike Shelton_Review

The Dragon Orb (The Alaris Chronicles Book 1)The Dragon Orb by Mike Shelton
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Review: THE DRAGON ORB by Mike Shelton
(The Alaris Chronicles Book 1)

THE DRAGON ORB is the first in a new series which I categorize as YA fantasy (based on the ages and maturity levels of the three protagonists). AllI, Roland, and Bakari are youthful wizards in Alaris, a land ruled by judges. Alli is a battle wizard, Roland a counselor wizard, and Bakari a scholar-wizard. When a rebellion commences, and the barrier falls, all three must demonstrate talent, courage, and resolution.


View all my reviews

Friday, February 24, 2017

Review_NLI-10 By Lee Isserow

NLI-10   (The APEX Cycle # 3)NLI-10 by Lee Isserow
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Review: NLI-10 by Lee Isserow

Conspiracy theorists, rejoice! I couldn't put NLI-10 down. I love reading of a mega-corporate . Conspiracy so pervasive, so insidious, so all-consuming, with villains so sneaky (Fu Manchu would have admired this Dragon Lady). The concept of a human "operating system," of implants that allow the human brain to function as a computer, is not nearly so incomprehensible as it was even one decade earlier. With plausibility comes believability and this intensified the entertainment value of the story for me, resulting in a real page-turner.

View all my reviews

THE MASK OF MINOS/BRUNO'S Inferno_Review

The Mask of Minos / Bruno's InfernoThe Mask of Minos / Bruno's Inferno by Robert Walton
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Review of THE MASK OF MINOS/BRUNO' S INFERNO by Robert Walton

Bon vivant archaeologist Harry Thursday returns in a second daring adventure, a quest with tentacles to the World Wars, and roots in the legends of ancient Crete. The Hyperboreans continue to trouble the waters as Harry is tasked by a secretive Federal agency to uncover the Mask of King Minos of Crete , the legendary son of Greek gods and father of the Minotaur. "Lost" since World War II, reputedly the Mask confers tremendous power. Who better to search it out and recover the Mask than intrepid Harry Thursday, the James Bond of archaeologists.

View all my reviews

Thursday, February 23, 2017

review of IN THE BLOOD by Lee Isserow (THE BLOOD LIVES BOOK 1)

In The Blood: The Blood Lives (book 1)In The Blood: The Blood Lives by Lee Isserow
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Review of THE BLOOD LIVES
{IN THE BLOOD BOOK 1}

By Lee Isserow

This initial installment of the paranormal/sci fi series IN THE BLOOD is an exciting, fast-paced, deeply emotional novella with an intriguing scientific premise. There really do exist monsters, “haemogoblins” which consist of, quite literally, blood: sentient, active, almost uncontrollable blood entities. Certain individuals carry these, and when threatened or in danger, the blood monsters are aroused and injure, even kill, the threats. Of course, secretive governmental agencies are formed to study, analyse, and combat the entities. Carriers, when possible, are trained. One such is Ben, whose mother was killed by a “monster” when he was very small.

View all my reviews

Review of ROAM by Erik Therme

RoamRoam by Erik Therme
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Review of ROAM by Erik Therme

Difficult to express how much I love this totally perfect, compactly-written, story. I loved it, loved it, loved it, finished it wanting to read it again immediately, and yes, it was a one-session straight readthrough. I've read the author's earlier books, MORTOM and RESTHAVEN, and enjoyed them immensely, so I leaped to read ROAM, which blew me away with its entertainment value combined with thrills, suspense, deep human emotions, mild violence (primarily offscreen), date abuse, familial psychological abuse, and so much else. This was akin to standing before a painting in a museum and watching it come to life and portray a vignette of life. ROAM is excellent. Don't miss it.

View all my reviews

Saturday, February 18, 2017

Review_CHALK by Paul Cornell

ChalkChalk by Paul Cornell
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Review: CHALK by Paul Cornell

Paul Cornell became one of my favorite authors with his SHADOW POLICE series. His newest novel, CHALK, however, is completely different, set on the chalk downs of Wiltshire rather than in esoteric London. I found it an intriguing but disturbing read, a novel which is up front about bullying violence and its repercussions. It is also a story illuminating the dangers of awakening history. On one level, it could be viewed as a chronicle of mental disorder stimulated by traumatic violence [and certainly there are contemporary examples of that]. Beyond that view is a very intense paranormal framework, one which invokes entities, prehistory, and events of Roman Britain. Those who watched for Roman invasion still watch on. Whichever viewpoint one chooses to elicit the novel's themes, this story will shake up one's own received world view and refuse to be forgotten.

View all my reviews

Thursday, February 16, 2017

GYPSY by Dan Foley_ Review

GypsyGypsy by Dan Foley
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Review: GYPSY by Dan Foley

Gosh I love this book. It's compactly taut, requiring only a minimal suspension of disbelief. Starting with a carnival in Vermont in 1956 (a decent carnival, where the carnies demonstrate family feeling, not the horror show type often found in fiction), we the reader quickly discover that the carnie crew, and most of the townspeople are good guys. Unfortunately, the town does contain some bad apples--or rather, one monstrous (in both character and size, most unfortunately) and his personal cache of five acolytes, for whom he constantly plays his own version of Simon Says (or else). He is seemingly unstoppable; and not too stable. When he and his followers (not equal enough to be buddies) commit a horrid crime in July 1956, his own personal enabler, his brother the Sheriff, blows it away.

Fifty years later, a seventy-two-old man, a Vietnam vet, originally from New Jersey, happens into the carnival, mostly for distraction. With brain cancer, he only has three to four months to live--until he meets his destiny and finds his purpose, discovering himself returned to 1956. His hero's quest: to right a terrible wrong, to overturn a gross miscarriage of justice, and to wreak someone else's revenge. What a page-turner!

View all my reviews

Monday, February 6, 2017

RECOVERED by Amber Polo_Review

Recovered (The Shapeshifters' Library, #3)Recovered by Amber Polo
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

2/06/17 (blog tour)

Review of RECOVERED by Amber Polo
[The Shapeshifters Library #3]

RECOVERED is a doggily-licious, dog-delightful story, and I can't wait to read this entertaining and imaginative series in full. In Southern Ohio, there is a pack of dog shifter Librarians (yes, you read that accurately), most of whom are late-in-life shifters, and other Librarians who are shifter friends. This small community also houses a more aggressive and generally unfriendly werewolf pack. The Dog shifters also maintain an academy for guiding and training the shifters, and are investigating and uncovering a mysterious Mound, which may contain the Library of the Ancients.

The characters are treasures, and their interaction is uplifting and heartwarming. The story is a positive joy, the kind of story that makes a reader happy to read it. If you like stories that raise your spirits, don't miss RECOVERED, and the series, THE SHAPESHIFTER'S LIBRARY.

Saturday, February 4, 2017

BLUE DEMON by David Bernstein_Review

Blue DemonBlue Demon by David Bernstein
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Review: BLUE DEMON by David Bernstein

Who doesn't want justice served? Who doesn't think bullies, rapists, and murderers should be stopped, unable to commit further offenses?

BLUE DEMON is a story of justice taken to an extreme; of justice mutating into vengeance, of "an eye for an eye" doubled, even tripled. It's also the story of family strength, of loyalty, compassion, and love. The many tragedies that befall Dan, Jackie, and their son Cal are inexcusable and could have been avoidable (not by them, but by the perpetrators). But in the background there is one who patiently waits, and when called upon, avenges.

BLUE DEMON is a story with a heartwarming family suffering terrifically, and the imaginatively creative methods in which justice is delivered--permanently.

View all my reviews

Friday, February 3, 2017

WINTER TIDE by Ruthanna Emrys_Review

Winter Tide (The Innsmouth Legacy, #1)Winter Tide by Ruthanna Emrys
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Review of WINTER TIDE by Ruthanna Emrys

WINTER TIDE will clearly be one of my favorites of 2017, and one of my all-time top novels in the Lovecraftian Mythos category. Appropriately in Women in Horror Month (February), I want to acknowledge the influence of two women horror writers, both of whom excel at play in the fields of The Lovecraft Mythos: Ruthanna Emrys, and Caitlin R. Kiernan. The writings of both are truly exceptional.

In WINTER TIDES, I am gifted with all that I seek in fantasy, all that I ask of science fiction, all I could imagine in Lovecraft's universes, and my mind is stretched beyond its usual capacity. Ms. Emrys waives any need for suspension of disbelief. Everything in the novel seems as real and as vivid as anything I might view through my windows. Innsmouth and Arkham; Miskatonic University and its sister institution, the Hall School; body thieving and the various species of humankind (people of the rock; people of the water; people of the air) are so vividly realised as to make them, indeed, real to readers. Even in its post-World War II setting, there are serious overtones reaching back to the U.S.'s interment of Japanese-Americans during that war, and forward to the political witch hunts in the 1950's by Senator Joseph McCarthy and the House Un-American Activities Committee in their quests to find Communists under each rock, and further to today's political climate and fear/hatred of the unknown (in this case, the “unknown” ethnicities, such as the “fish-folk” formerly of Innsmouth, and any practitioners of magic, and the Yith).

H. P. Lovecraft might in his day have taken exception to the idea of a female writer working in his Mythos, but I for one am very thankful that Ruthanna Emrys has chosen to expand on his foundation. I'll be rereading WINTER TIDES repeatedly, enclosing myself in its literate explications, reveling in the language and in the metaphysics of the Lovecraft Mythos.

View all my reviews

Friday, January 13, 2017

IF THERE BE GIANTS by Ellison Blackburn_Review

If There Be Giants (The Watchers, #1)If There Be Giants by Ellison Blackburn
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Review: IF THERE BE GIANTS by Ellison Blackburn
(THE WATCHERS #1)

Mallory Jacks had been a staunch fan of Indiana Jones since childhood, and unlike many childhood enthusiasms, her interest in both archaeology and anthropology cemented itself and became her adult career passion as well. In company with her schoolmates Paisley, the two found a museum in their small Cornwall community. The turning point occurs with the uncovering of a henge stone. As the novel unfolds, Mallory discovers the existence of The Watchers. Such a discovery may well upend forever both established science, and accepted religions.

IF THERE BE GIANTS is a highly narrative archaeological suspense-thriller. It is first in THE WATCHERS Series.


View all my reviews

Wednesday, January 11, 2017

WINTER'S RESPITE READATHON JAN. 16-29__Goal = 12

WINTER'S RESPITE Readathon is hosted at http://seasonsreading.blogspot.com/2017/01/a-winters-respite-readathon-time-to.html

Books I've read: January 16 Mists of the Miskatonic Book 1 by Al Halsey
The Innsmouth Syndrome by Phillip Hemphill
Ghost Stories (The Daily Telegraph Ghost Story Competition) Jan. 17:
The Night Ocean by Paul LaFarge {read as an ARC via NetGalley} Jan. 18:
DEAD LINER by Alex Laybourne
Wendigo Fever {Warden #1} by Kevin Hardman Jan. 19:
Acadia Event by M.J. Preston

Jan. 20: Beginning in November, I began reading a lot of short story collections (single-author) and themed anthologies. This was a major new path for me, because in adolescence I decided to read novels, as they are longer-lasting, giving me more time with the characters and plot. {smile} But in November I took up short fiction as well (primarily Lovecraft, Lovecraft Mythos, and other horror, but including literary fiction and so forth).
3 stories by Tracy L. Carbone: THE ATTIC RENT CONTROL PRETTY LITTLE PIG
Restitution by Tracy L. Carbone (novel) Jan. 21:
Something Violent by Kristopher Rufty (ARC, crime fiction novel)
THE FOLKS by Tracy L Carbone (short story) Jan. 22:
Green River Blend by Armand Rossamilia Jan. 23:
Green River Blend 2 by Armand Rosamilia Jan. 23:
Text from the Dead by Stella Dark Horror Inside Out by Authors for Autism Jan. 24:
The Dark River: A by Michael Richan (The Dark River #1) Jan. 25:
The Blood Gardener by Michael Richan (The Dark River @2)) Trick or Death (short story) (6 pp.)
The Port of Missing Souls by Michael Richan (The River #12)
The Whispering: The Riley Family Mystery by Jonathan Kittrell (The Blood of the Earth #1)
Whispering Peak by Alyssa Cooper (34 pp.) Jan. 26:
The Moon Seems to Change by Franklyn M Branley (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science Series) (children) Jan. 26:
Single Malt Murder by Melissa Mullet (mystery, NetGalley ARC)--highly recommended Jan. 27:
Something's Alive On the Titanic, by Robert J. Serling Originally published 1990,republished Jan. 2017 by Endeavour Press, a very absorbing historical (1977 and 1993) novel of exploration and obsession and the strange ocean depths Jan. 29:
Jack-In-The-Box by William Johnstone very creepy, Satanic, implacable horror.
The Mercy of the Tides, Keith Rosson exceptional novel; a Best of 2017 Total Read: 5 short stories; 22 novels, novellas; 1 anthology, so 23 books, 5 short stories read Books I read during Winter's Respite but haven't finished: Lines of the Devil, Zack Bohannon The Ghost of Tobacco Road, Dale J. Young The Only Child, Andrew Pyper Whispering Corner, Marc Alexander